Read My Current Entry! . Read My Other Entries! . Krishnamurti - "Truth is a pathless land" . ! . Email Me! . Sign My Guestbook . X . Busnanu
"Men give me credit for some genius. All the genius I have lies in this; when I have a subject in hand, I study it profoundly. Day and night it is before me. My mind becomes pervaded with it. Then the effort that I have made is what people are pleased to call the fruit of genius. It is the fruit of labor and thought."
-- Alexander Hamilton
Welcome to the journal of a possible spiritual anarchist inconoclastic autodidact

In Love and Remembrance - 04 October, 2008
- - 21 April, 2008
Updating... - 23 March, 2008
"Are you SPARKLING?" - 12 March, 2007
- - 20 February, 2007



Follow My Bliss



Link me?

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)



Site Meter


Take the World's Smallest Political Quiz!


Jiddu Krishnamurti - Learn more...


CLICK & Watch a short film about Liberty FREE!


"The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."


Alexander Hamilton - learn more...


the tragedy of PENNY MCCLURG is the tragedy of American society




Laissez Faire Class 101


What's a libertarian?
Click HERE to find out

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)



"A legislative act contrary to the Constitution is not law."--Justice John Marshall


M. K. Gandhi Institute for Nonviolence


What "the fog of war" means is: war is so complex it's beyond the ability of the human mind to comprehend all the variables. Our judgment, our understanding, are not adequate. And we kill people unnecessarily."

Terror Alert Level
FEAR IS PATRIOTIC!
BE AFRAID!


Charlie Rose on PBS?


NOW with David Brancaccio on PBS?


National Public Radio?


Watch & Learn on CSPAN?


Questioning Liberty?

What's an autodidact?


The Eagle Soars?


Become a Peacemaker?


Ontosophy.com arises as a consequence of a wish for peace; thus precipitating the enterprise of divesting suffering and encouraging liberation for all beings.

03 October, 2004 - "Rise Above"


Year after year, life has beaten me up. I have not given in though to my despair. But it certainly not been easy living through the many rough periods. For every joy in life that I have ever found and did my utter best to make a permanent fixture in my life, all have vanished. I reach out constantly cling to nothing, for all I love has deserted me. I sometimes feel happiness is a mirage of the mind.

Yesterday I saw a book by Dr.Phil at the bookstore a book entitled 'Self Matters'. I do not like Dr.Phil at all and think he is an arrogant know-it-all who like other talk show hosts takes advantage of others for his own profit. The book in the title speaks of self, and he goes on and on about the self.

My finacee' who dumped me said that some people suffer from low SELF-esteem, she the said she suffered from no-SELF-esteem. Once again the term 'self' is used. Walpola Rahula wrote in his book 'What the Buddha Taught' that "Buddhism stands unique in the history of human thought in denying the existence of...a Soul, Self, or Atman. According to the teaching of the Buddha, the idea of self is an imaginary, false belief which has no corresponding reality, and it produces harmful thoughts of "me" and "mine," selfish desire, craving, attachment, hatred, ill-will, conceit, pride, egoism, and other defilements, impurities and problems. It is the source of all the troubles in the world from personal conflics to wars between nations. In short, to this false view can be traced all the evil in the world."

I find that to be true and it has helped me let go of some of my most negative traits. 'I' certainly have a long way to go though as I do on the journey of life and finding happiness. For in finding what I have done wrong in creating my own unhappiness, I am now able to live a more enjoyable life. Sometimes we must let go, and as Joseph Campbell said "We must be willing to get rid of the life we've planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us. The old skin has to be shed before the new one can come."

Still despite one's philosophy, no matter how disciplined a mind may be hardships will try anyone. For through these times we must have utter patience.
That comes truly from an indomitable will, to survive. Just take a look at the life of President Abraham Lincoln:

1809-Born in a one room log cabin on Nolin Creek in Kentucky
1816-He had to work to support his
family after they were forced out of their home.
1818-His mother died and he is kicked in the head by a horse and for a brief time is thought to be dead.
1828-His sister dies while giving birth
1831-Failed in business.
1832-Was defeated for legislature.
1832-Lost his job and couldn't get into law school.
1833-Declared bankruptcy, and spent the next 17 years of his life paying off the money he borrowed from friends to start his business.
1834-Was defeated for legislature again.
1835-Was engaged to be married, but his sweetheart died and is heartbroken.
1836-Had a nervous breakdown and spent the next six months in bed.
1838-Was defeated in becoming the speaker of the state legislature.
1840-Was defeated in becoming elector.
1843-Was defeated for Congress.
1846-Was defeated for Congress.
1848-Was defeated for Congress again.
1849-Was rejected for the job of Land Officer in his home state.
1854-Was defeated for Senate.
1856-Was defeated for Vice-President -- got less than 100 votes.
1858-Was defeated for Senate for the third time.
1860-Was elected President of the United States.
1865-Was assasinated

He was knocked down his entire life and he kept getting back up. In the end he was even murdered! But no one could stop him, even in death he won out. I will close with in quoting Gandhi, "Suffering cheerfully endured, ceases to be suffering and is transmuted into an ineffable joy." How true indeed and something I must fully incorporate into my life.

"He will have to learn, I know, that all people are not just- that all men and women are not true. Teach him that for every scoundrel there is a hero that for every enemy there is a friend. Let him learn early that the bullies are the easiest people to lick."--President Abraham Lincoln

"Most people are about as happy as they make up their minds to be."--President Abraham Lincoln

"The path was worn and slippery.
My foot slipped from under me,
knocking the other out of the way,
but I recovered and said to myself,
It's a slip and not a fall."--President Abraham Lincoln

"And in the end it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years."--President Abraham Lincoln

"The history of the world is full of men who rose to leadership, by sheer force of self-confidence, bravery and tenacity."--Mohandas K. Gandhi

"It's a tough road that leads to thy heights of greatness."--Lucius Annaeus Seneca

"When you get to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on."--President Franklin D. Roosevelt

"Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened."--Matthew 7:7-8

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us."--Ralph Waldo Emerson

"When you reach for the stars, you may not quite get them, but you won't come up with a handful of mud either."--Leo Burnett

"The Buddha teaches this triple truth to all: A generous heart, kind speech, and a life of service and compassion are the things which renew humanity."--Siddhartha Gautama

"People often say that motivation doesn't last. Well, neither does bathing - that's why we recommend it daily."--Zig Ziglar

"Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going."--Jim Ryun

"Through training there is knowledge. You can produce compassion, love, forgiveness. you can change yourself."--Dalai Lama

"It's hard to beat a person who never gives up."--Babe Ruth

"Let yourself be open and life will be easier. A spoon of salt in a glass of water makes the water undrinkable. A spoon of salt in a lake is almost unnoticed."--Buddha

"If humanity is to progress, Gandhi is inescapable. he lived, thought, and acted, inspired by the vision of humanity evolving toward a world of peace and harmony. We may ignore him at our own risk"."--Martin Luther King, Jr.

'Rise Above'-Black Flag

Jealous cowards try to control
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
They distort what we say
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
Try and stop what we do
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
When they cant do it them selves
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!


We are tired of your abuse!
Try to stop us but its no use!

Societys arm's out of control
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
Think there smart cant think for themselves
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
Laugh at us behind our backs
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
I find satisfaction in what they lack
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!


We are tired of your abuse!
Try to stop us but its no use!


We were born with a chance
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
I am gonna have my chance
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
We were born with a chance
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!
I am gonna have my chance
Rise above! we're gonna rise above!


We are tired of your abuse!
Try to stop us but its no use!


We are tired of your abuse!
Try to stop us but its no use!


Rise above!
We're gonna rise above!
We're gonna rise above!
We're gonna rise above!
We're gonna rise above!

PUBLIUS

0 is number of those whom left COMMENTARY, if you would like too please click here.

about Hamiltonian - read my profile! don't read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Content � 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 Author of http://hamiltonian.diaryland.com/ All Rights Reserved!